Elaine Slater

"Sweet Mysteries of Life" Collection of Short Stories (2003): The stories in this collection deal with life's quotidian mysteries. Almost all are true yet not true. In each something has been set in motion in small and large ways. Often it is left to the reader to discover what it is that has happened. Although most stories in this collection are based on actual events, this is not to suggest that Elaine Slater is a serial killer. She is adept at turning murderous thought into laughter and life experiences into wisdom.

​Purchase on Amazon here.

Short Stories

Elaine Slater's short stories have appeared in innumerable magazines and anthologies, including Alan Hubin's Collection of the "Best of the Best Detective Stories" (1971), and Isaac Asimov's "100 Malicious Little Mysteries" (1981). 

A brief selection of anthologies:

  • Best of the Best Detective Stories (1971) - compiled by Alan Hubin – Dutton
  • Ellery Queen's 16th Mystery Annual – Random House
  • Wordscape 6 – MTB Press
  • Fingerprints (1984) – Crime Writers of Canada
  • A Cup of Comfort (1997)- compiled by Colleen Sell – Adams Media
  • New Short Detective Stories - compiled by Takuro Ikeda – Kenkyusha Press
  • 100 Malicious Little Mysteries (1981) - compiled by Isaac Asimov – Barnes & Noble
  • Tales From Manchester Arms – Canadian Authors Association